The music of man and nature

I was sitting in bed with my cup of tea this morning, thinking, mulling over the things I had to do today, and listening to the radio. A beautiful, gentle piece of choral music was playing, perfect for first thing in the morning. It was Adagio for Strings by Samuel Barber (I just looked it up!), sung by the Choir of New College, Oxford. As I listened I became aware that outside my bedroom window a bird was singing, probably a blackbird. I wasn’t sure which was the most beautiful – the music of man, and human voices, or the music of nature, and the voice of a bird. And then I realised, that to my ear at least, both were equally magnificent, and harmonised together as if that was how it was planned to be. As if on cue, the moment the piece of music ended the bird moved away and his song became more distant until it completely faded away. I felt as though I had been given a gift, a precious moment in time, given to me, and to be shared with you.

Leave a Reply

