The Importance of Trees

Although I live on an urban estate, and only have a small garden, there are mature trees all around, giving a sense of space and a feel of the countryside. These trees are some of the last remaining vestiges of the old Sussex oak forests that used to cover much of the area, and some of them must be hundreds of years old.
To me, trees are a symbol of life going on; enduring despite what happens around them. They have stood through eons of summers and winters, leaf fall and new growth, good times and bad; and still they endure. They were here long before my house was even thought of, let alone built, and hopefully they will still be here when I move on. They remind me that there is order in creation, and that life goes on without me. I have my place, but I am not the most important thing in the universe.

Leave a Reply

