And in the Silence…..

And this morning in the silence, I can hear: the chatter of birds, and the scrambling of a squirrel on the fence; a couple of dogs barking along the path; the faraway drone of traffic on the main road, and the distant rumble of an aeroplane engine. Closer at hand, I can hear my computer humming and my fingers tapping on the keyboard; the radiators clicking as they cool, and if I really listen, the incessant ticking of the clock.

But also in the silence I become aware of my body, my fingers trembling, a slight buzzing in my ears, and a gentle pulse in my chest. My heart is beating, I am alive.

One thought on “And in the Silence…..

Leave a Reply

