A Mysterious Seed Head

I spotted this interesting seed head this afternoon, nestled in the undergrowth of my friend’s garden. It is beautiful, a natural work of art with intricate veining like delicate lace. It is just over four centimetres long, and is amazingly strong, flexing without breaking when I gently squeeze it. Over the cold winter months it has remained completely undamaged, protecting one knobbly brown seed that still lies safely tucked away inside.
I have no idea what flower this seed head comes from, and if anyone out there can shed any light on it, I’d love to know.

Seedhead

2 thoughts on “A Mysterious Seed Head

  1. I think it was a skeleton of Chinese Lantern seed pod. Latin name is Physalis alkekengi (aka. Bladder cherry, Chinese lantern, Japanese lantern, or Winter cherry), you can google the image to confirm it.

  2. Thank you, I’ve looked at some pictures and I think you’re right. I would never have found that without your help 🙂 I wonder how it got into my friends garden, I’m sure she never grew it!

Leave a Reply

