Bees and roses

Since our grey and windy day at the beach, we have had a sprinkling of glorious summer days. I take my dog Brinny out for a walk everyday, and one day last week on a lovely, bright sunny day, we took the route that goes past a small front garden with an old-fashioned rose hedge. At this time of year you can always smell the roses long before you can see them, and last week as I approached, I became aware too of a loud and continuous buzzing. As I got nearer, I could see that the wide-open pink and white roses were alive with bees. Only one bee to a flower, but so many flowers with so many bees, all frantically scrabbling about in the yellow centres of the fragrant blooms.
Ah, summer at last!

Leave a Reply

