My new birthday mug

It was my birthday a couple of weeks ago, and amongst other lovely and thoughtful gifts, I was given a mug. It was a nice mug, with a design of butterflies etched in a wide black band around it, and my friend knows that I like butterflies!
A couple of mornings later, I made myself a cup of tea in my new mug, took it upstairs and sat in bed to do my morning reading. After a moment I reached round for my tea, and stared in amazement – while I hadn’t been watching, my mug had come alive! What I had failed to realise was that it was heat activated, and my mug was now covered with butterflies of red and orange and blue. It got me thinking, as such things often do, that we may appear on the outside to be one thing, but when our true colours shine through, we are actually something much more vibrant! It reminds me too of 2 Corinthians 4:7, where it says ‘We have this treasure in jars [mugs?] of clay to show that the all-surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.’
May God’s power and love be seen shining through me.

Leave a Reply

