Big Garden Birdwatch

I thought I’d take part in the Big Garden Birdwatch this year, run by RSPB. So this afternoon I sat down with a cup of tea, my binoculars and a bird identification book, to record the birds visiting my garden during a one hour period. Lots of birds are regular visitors, some just sit in the trees, while others dart after insects. Some bounce around, stopping suddenly to inspect the grass closely. Others rummage through the leaves in the borders, throwing debris in their wake. Wood pigeons, blackbirds, starlings, thrushes, robins, blue tits and great tits, are frequent visitors, and even a shy wren occasionally puts in an appearance.
Today however, I think the birds knew I was watching. During the hour, I only saw a handful of my usual regulars. A blue tit, or I think it was a blue tit, flitted into the topmost branches of the tree – too far away, and too fleeting to be certain. A fat, pink breasted wood-pigeon sat and stared at me for a while from a lower branch. And that was all that technically visited my garden. So I pretended that the oak tree next door was mine (after all, the branches do extend over my fence), where a couple of crows strutted aggressively, a lone magpie (one for sorrow) flicked its tail, and four starlings shouted at each other. Birds called, seagulls flew over, many other birds swooped in and out of the trees beyond my back fence, but they studiously avoided actually touching down in my garden. I have to say I was a little disappointed.
It’s more exiting when less common birds visit. A pair of jays occasionally pop in during the summer, and a troop of long-tailed tits flit through from time to time. Last week this little chap put in an appearance. I think it’s a nuthatch, but I couldn’t get a clear picture – he moved too quickly. If anyone out there can confirm it, or has a better idea, I’d love to hear.

P1030464

2 thoughts on “Big Garden Birdwatch

  1. I am not good at identifying birds; however, it does look like a red-breasted nuthatch to me. They are such lovely little birds. We have a bird book that I check when I really want to know what one is named.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. Thanks Wendy. I looked in my bird books, but it moved so quickly that it was hard to get a good look. I thought it was probably a nuthatch – it’s good to know someone agrees with me :).

Leave a Reply

