Wisteria

I’m off on holiday tomorrow, leaving the dog and house in the capable hands of my daughter. So I thought I’d leave you with a picture of my wisteria in full bloom. It is trained over the pergola, and this year has bounteous long racemes that shiver and sway as the breezes pass through. I measured one raceme, and it was nearly 80cm long (31″), which I thought was pretty good, until I read that the racemes can grow to well over a metre in length! As you can see, it is a delicate pale-lilac colour; and if you stand with your head among the racemes, you are swathed in a faint sweet perfume. And did you know that wisteria stems grow counter-clockwise?

Wisteria

2 thoughts on “Wisteria

Leave a Reply

