Hidden Hydrangea

Walking back from the beach to my friend’s house in Littlehampton last week, I spotted this hydrangea growing in a front garden. I only noticed it when I was right up close, and then I realised that it was growing completely inside the hedge. The flower heads were perfectly formed and not stunted in any way through lack of light, and the colours were truly glorious. A bible text popped into my head: ‘Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick;’ (Matthew 5:15 AV). I have adapted it a little: ‘Do not grow your hydrangea inside a hedge where no one can see its beauty!’

Hydrangea in a hedge

One thought on “Hidden Hydrangea

  1. Pingback: Hidden Hydrangea | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

