God’s Surprises

Last Saturday morning, I was catching up on some of the blogs I follow, including Wildlife and Words, where Elliot beautifully described a local ‘Brief (deer) Encounter’ (http://wildlifeandwords.com/2015/02/26/an-encounter-with-deer/  I live in West Sussex, England, as does Elliot, so I posted a comment saying that despite living in the same area, I had never seen a wild deer.

That afternoon I dropped an elderly friend back home after lunch, on the other side of town, near my daughter’s new house, so I thought I’d just pop in and surprise her. It’s a three-storey town house, and the back garden borders onto Tilgate Forest and Golf Course. We were standing and chatting, and looking out from her first floor lounge window, when I spotted a movement in the trees. Someone walking their dog, I thought; until I looked more carefully. Yes, you’ve guessed it, a deer! Ambling along, totally unaware of my excitement; nibbling here, nibbling here, stopping to scratch its flank with a hoofed back leg. We watched for ten minutes or so, until it moved out of sight. And I was left amazed at how God loves to bless us and surprise us. You might call it coincidence, but I choose to think otherwise. Only that morning I had been bewailing the fact that I had never seen a wild deer. And if I hadn’t taken my friend home; if I hadn’t just popped in to see my daughter; if we hadn’t been looking out of the window at that moment – and God put all that together for me. Wow!

Unfortunately I didn’t have my camera with me, but this is kinda how it looked:

 

2 thoughts on “God’s Surprises

Leave a Reply

